Dec 202013

20.Little David Wilkins
19.Glenn Douglass Tubb
18.Autrey Inman
17.Ralph Mooney
16.Elton Britt
15.Grant Turner
14.Johnny Russell
13.Bobby Edwards
12.Sonny Burns
11.Big Al Downing
10.Riley Puckett
09.George D Hay
08.Vestal Goodman
07.Molly O Day
06.Don Winters

This next Icon I have been studying for MANY years and I LOVE him and I REALLY think he
has been forgotten and under appreciated until NOW!
My number 5 pick is Bob Luman.

 photo a47d3c1c-2fe7-4c5f-bc3f-5deec867acad_zps2080c0e3.jpg

Robert Glynn Luman was born in Blackjack Texas April 15th 1937.
He was a country and rockabilly singer and songwriter from the 1950’s
He debuted mainstream on the Louisiana Hayride in least that’s
the first I have found of him.
He formed a band called the Shadows and I found out James Burton played
guitar for him in that band.

He signed with Imperial Records in 1958 and recorded some for them
before they dropped him and he was picked up by Capitol however
they wanted him to change his name and he refused.
The result of that was him signing with Warner Bros.

In 1960 or 61 he went into the U.S. Army and while there Warner Bros.
released his greatest known hit “Let’s Think About Living”.
After leaving the service in 1963 he moved to Nashville
and joined the Opry cast.
He is also a member of Rockabilly Hall Of Fame
and the Texas Country Music Hall Of Fame.

He toured quite actively through the 60s and 70s
and was popular on the west coast mostly.

He died December 27th 1978 in Nashville from pneumonia at age 41
In 1969 he signed with Epic Records and had several hits
with them.

Dec 202013

 photo th_zps212f75ce.jpg

On November 16th 2013 Bloodshot Records will re-issue the first
two albums from the Bottle Rockets.
Their self-titled debut album and their second album “The Brooklyn Side” will
both be released as 2 CD set.
* Both complete albums + 19 previously unreleased bonus tracks.
* Remastered under the supervision of Eric “Roscoe” Ambel.
* 40 page booklet.

Both albums were long out of print and they have added the unreleased
tracks and booklet where you can learn the evolution of the band
from their early days playing with Uncle Tupelo and Chicken Truck.

Their first self titled debut album is from 1993 when they
burst on to the 90’s alt-scene. They weren’t totally strictly
country but they absolutely do have roots planted deep in country.

In 1994 their second album “The Brooklyn Side” was well
received by critics and the media and the single “Radar Gun”
reached number 27 on the Billboard Charts.
The band then moved on and signed with Atlantic Records
and toured nationally.

They actually have a long history after their split with Atlantic
And I have wrote previous articles about them on the old
website….I’ll have to dig them out one day.

Go catch their live show…it’s worth the money!

Disc 1:
1. Early in the Morning
2. Gas Girl
3. Trailer Mama
4. Wave That Flag
5. Kerosene
6. Every Kinda Everything
7. Got What I Wanted
8. Manhattan Countryside
9. Rural Route
10. Bud Nanney Theme
11. The Very Last Time
12. Hey Moon
13. Lonely Cowboy
14. Indianapolis (1991 Acoustic Demo with Uncle Tupelo’s Jeff Tweedy & Jay Farrar)
15. Manhattan Countryside (1991 Acoustic Demo with Uncle Tupelo’s Jeff Tweedy & Jay Farrar)
16. Wallflower (1991 Acoustic Demo with Uncle Tupelo’s Jeff Tweedy & Jay Farrar)
17. Idiot’s Revenge (1991 Acoustic Demo with Uncle Tupelo’s Jeff Tweedy & Jay Farrar)
18. Dead Dog Memories (Acoustic Demo)
19. Hey Moon (1993 Radio Performance on Thirsty Ear)
20. Get Down River (1993 Radio Performance on Thirsty Ear)
21. White Trash (1989 Chicken Truck Version)
22. Radar Gun (1989 Chicken Truck Version)
23. Lonely Cowboy (1989 Chicken Truck Version)
24. Coffee Monkey (1989 Chicken Truck Version)
25. Wave That Flag (1989 Chicken Truck Version)
26. Brand New Year (1989 Chicken Truck Version)

Disc 2:
1. Welfare Music
2. Gravity Fails
3. I’ll Be Comin’ Around
4. Radar Gun
5. Sunday Sports
6. Pot of Gold
7. 1000 Dollar Car
8. Idiot’s Revenge
9. Young Lovers in Town
10. Take Me to the Bank
11. What More Can I Do
12. Stuck in a Rut
13. I Wanna Come Home
14. Queen of the World
15. This Is What It Sounds Like When You’re Listening to Lindsey Buckingham and Thinking of Your Friend’s Girlfriend at the Same Time (1994 Acoustic Demo)
16. Building Chryslers (1994 Acoustic Demo)
17. Smokin’ 100s Alone (1994 Acoustic Demo)
18. Truck Driving Man (Previously Unreleased Track)
19. Welfare Music (1994 Live at Mercury Lounge)
20. Farmer John (1994 Live at Mercury Lounge)