Feb 232018

Derrick Dove And The Peacekeepers By Joshua Wallace.

Derrick Dove & The Peacekeepers are a new regional southern rock outfit out of Tifton, GA.  They bring a sound that is a mix of softer southern rock and blues rock.  Derrick Dove’s voice is as smooth as the guitar playing on this record and it’s a good debut effort.  If you like your southern rock on the smoother side like Tedeschi Trucks Band or Gregg Allman, you’ll dig this one for sure.

The album kicks off with a road song in “Ramblin’ Soul” in one of the heavier tracks on the album.  There is some nice solo work at the beginning to let you know what you can expect going forward.  Another favorite is one of the album’s singles “So Strong”.  This song is about the struggles of a loving relationship and is a very smooth southern rock track.

The first thing anyone heard from the album is the acoustic ballad “Hangin’ Out With The Blues”.  It’s a smooth break-up song that highlights Derrick Dove’s great vocals.  “Georgia Bound” is another rockin’ number about coming back home to Georgia.  Finally, I’m a fan of the slower number “Dig My Grave”.  It’s got a heavy drum beat that the guitars dance around and is a great late album ballad that pairs well with the amazing slow solo work of the mostly instrumental finale, “Everybody’s Feeling Fine”.

I highly recommend this album if you like to love southern rock music, especially the more blues inspired variety.  Derrick Dove & The Peacekeepers present a strong effort here that should not go ignored.  This album is available Friday, February 23rd.  Check out his band website for everything you need to know on the band.

Favorite Tracks : Ramblin’ Soul, So Strong, Georgia Bound, Hangin’ Out With The Blues

Derrick Dove & The Peacekeepers – Derrick Dove & The Peacekeepers (2018)

  1. Ramblin’ Soul

  2. So Strong

  3. Woke Up This Morning

  4. Brand New Life

  5. Hangin’ Out With The Blues

  6. What’s Real

  7. Hurricane Of Love

  8. Georgia Bound (feat. Yonrico Scott)

  9. Dig My Grave

  10. Everybody’s Feeling Fine (feat. Yonrico Scott)

Feb 232018

Caleb Caudle: Crushed Coins By Joshua Wallace.

Crushed Coins is Caleb Caudle’s follow up to the decidedly country 2016 album Carolina Ghost.  This new record keeps the country influence but the songs offer more Americana and folk flair this time around for a more varied sound.  That doesn’t mean this record is out there or misses the mark.  It is still very country.  It’s just obvious that Caleb Caudle is open to taking a song to whatever direction it needs to go in and that helps create an amazing soundscape around his smooth southern voice.

One of the singles to come out before the record was “Love That’s Wild”.  This song keeps the country influences with some amazing pedal steel work by Brett Resnick, but it also has a smooth Americana vibe to it.  It’s a great passionately written love song that will stick with you.  I’m also a fan of the track “Headlights” which showcases more of that Americana and folk vibe.  This song echoes the central message of the album of looking for a ray of hope in a dark place.  

Another favorite track that reinforces the album’s theme is “Madelyn” which features Joshua Hedley on the fiddle.  This is one of the stronger country tracks of the album and Joshua Hedley kills it on the fiddle here.  On the opposite end of the spectrum, “Stack Of Tomorrows” showcases the driving rock sound of Americana with a flair of country in some great pedal steel work on the track.

Caleb Caudle’s Crushed Coins is a strong effort for an artist who is trying to step out of his comfort zone.  I look forward to more albums with this new direction in his sound.  I hope that he can continue to be open to letting the songs take the sound where they need to go.  That seems to be working well on this record.  Caleb Caudle’s Crushed Coins album is out everywhere on Friday, February 23rd, 2018.

Favorite Tracks : Lost Without You, Headlights, Love That’s Wild, Stack Of Tomorrows, Madelyn

Caleb Caudle – Crushed Coins (2018)

  1. Lost Without You

  2. N.Y.C. In The Rain

  3. Headlights

  4. Empty Arms

  5. Love That’s Wild

  6. Crushed Coins

  7. Way You Outta Be Seen

  8. Stack Of Tomorrows

  9. Madelyn

  10. Six Feet From The Flowers

  11. Until It’s Over