Aug 102018

By Joshua Wallace

Jason Eady’s new album I Travel On is a follow up to his 2017 self titled release.  It also marks the first time Eady has brought his all acoustic road band into the studio with him.  It creates a different kind of sound from his previous efforts. The familiarity between Eady and this band shows on this album as they are very road tested. This record has all the makings of a career highlight for Eady. Let’s dive a bit deeper into it.

The album kicks off with “I Lost My Mind In California” and right off the bat you can tell something is different here.  It’s an all acoustic jam that is sure to get the dance floors from Carolina to Texas going. I love the acoustic guitar solo on this one.  Another favorite is “That’s Alright” which is a nice traveling tune that rambles from New Orleans to Fort Worth and it is always looking at the positive side of things.

Elsewhere, “Pretty When I Die” is a co-write with Justin Wells.  It’s a bluegrass inspired tune with some amazing dobro work. This will likely be the fan favorite from the album.  It’s a barn burner for sure. One reason I keep going back to Jason Eady is for his amazing ballads and the track “Happy Man” does not disappoint.  I will just let the song speak for itself when you hear it and just say that it’s another highlight of the record that you should not miss.

Jason Eady has turned in another great record that feels like a new start.  This is the first album he has ever recorded with his road band and I think it will not be the last.  There is a bit of a different style going on here with some obvious bluegrass influence and a heavy focus on acoustic guitar.  There are a few killer solos and some amazing dobro work throughout the album.  There are more up tempo numbers sprinkled throughout the album, but it is still very much a Jason Eady record. The strong songwriting and amazing voice are still there 100%, if not even made better by having a tight band behind him.  Get yourself a copy of Jason Eady’s new I Travel On album everywhere music is sold today.

Favorite Tracks : I Lost My Mind In Carolina, That’s Alright, Below The Waterline, Pretty When I Die, Happy Man, I Travel On

Jason Eady – I Travel On (2018)

  1. I Lost My Mind In Carolina
  2. Now Or Never
  3. Happy Man
  4. Calaveras County
  5. Always A Woman
  6. That’s Alright
  7. Below The Waterline
  8. Pretty When I Die
Aug 102018

By Joshua Wallace

Shooter Jennings is back with his first album since 2016’s experimental LP Countach (For Giorgio).  His new record Shooter takes him back to his country roots and might be the most country album he has put out yet. There is clearly some throwback influence on this LP which reunites him with long time producer Dave Cobb.  This 9 track album is all killer and no filler so let’s take a deeper dive into some of these tracks.

The album starts out with the rocking number “Bound Ta Git Down” and sets the album off right.  I dig the horns in this track and it’s a great boogie to start the record with. My favorite pre-release track on the album is the track “D.R.U.N.K.”.  This should by all means be a radio hit, at least on Sirius XM. It’s a catchy tune with an infectious chorus that I feel like will be a favorite with live crowds for years to come.

Another great track is one of the slower numbers on the album called “Shades & Hues”.  It’s a country blues track that I could hear Hank Jr. cutting on any of his best records.  The album picks the pace back up with “I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy”.  The horn section from “Bound Ta Git Down” makes another appearance here.  I love how this record is packed with highs and lows and it paces itself very well.  “I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy” features a killer main riff that takes me back to some old school rock n roll with some country boogie.  Finally, the album rounds out with the awesome track “Denim & Diamonds” which takes me back to the smooth rock ballads of the 70’s with a funky bass line and guitar work that could come straight out of a Fleetwood Mac track.  It’s a great way to close out an amazing throwback record.

The new album from Shooter Jennings titled Shooter is clearly rooted and inspired by sounds of the past.  There is so much country boogie and rock n roll on this record you would think Bocephus himself had a hand in it.  It takes Shooter’s sound back to the jukeboxes sitting in the corner of your local hole in the wall honky tonk where it belongs.  This is quite possibly the best Shooter Jennings album yet even tops his 2013 masterpiece The Other Life. This record is available everywhere you find good music on Friday August 10th.

Favorite Tracks : Bound Ta Git Down, D.R.U.N.K., Shades & Hues, I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy, Denim & Diamonds

Shooter Jennings – Shooter (2018)

  1. Bound Ta Git Down
  2. Do You Love Texas?
  3. Living In A Minor Key
  4. D.R.U.N.K.
  5. Shades & Hues
  6. I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy
  7. Fast Horses & Good Hideouts
  8. Rhinestone Eyes
  9. Denim & Diamonds