Album Feature – Jacob Bryant – Practice What I Preach

 News  Comments Off on Album Feature – Jacob Bryant – Practice What I Preach
Feb 072019

By Joshua Wallace

I first came across Jacob Bryant’s music with his 2016 Up In Smoke EP.  He impressed me then and has continued to impress me with every EP and single release since.  Fast forward to 2019 and Bryant is finally releasing his first full length album. While the Jasper, GA native might draw comparisons to more traditional mainstream vocalists like Eric Church, Brantley Gilbert and Luke Combs, Bryant takes things a step further with this album.  Let’s take a dive into some of these cuts.

The song “25 In Jail” first appeared on one of Jacob’s Unplugged EPs, however the version that appears here is full band.  I love how this tune pays tribute to Haggard and manages to keep things original. Bryant’s love and respect for Haggard really shines through in this tune.  Another favorite is the track “Pain Pain” which another hard driving country rock tune. This one is a break up tune with Bryant longing to ditch the pain caused by a hard break-up.  I really dig the vocals on this tune as Bryant gives the traditional country break up tune a bit of a harder edge with his southern tone.

An early favorite on this record is the long rocking track “Pour Whiskey On My Grave”.  This track makes a push to be a modern southern rock / country anthem with it’s killer riffs and even better solos.  Don’t sleep on this one if you like your country rockin’. On Another note, we have the slower ballad of “Hot Mess”. This tune is about the hard work and strife that a single mother is put through.  It’s a highlight of the excellent songwriting on the album with it’s great storytelling. Finally, a big favorite here for me is “When I Get On A Roll”. I really enjoyed this tune by Tony Stampley when Mickey Lamantia recorded it last year, however Jacob Bryant takes it to another level.  The tune is filled with pedal steel and heavy guitars that take you to your favorite honky tonk. This is also one of Jacob’s stronger vocal performances on a slower track for this record. If the right folks who make these decisions are reading this, this track should be a single.

2019 has come out of the gate hard with some strong music releases and this is just another one.  Jacob Bryant has a sound that can both get play on mainstream radio and find a home with traditional country music fans like myself.  Give this one a shot and you might just agree. Practice What I Preach is available everywhere you can find good music on Friday February 8th, 2019.

Favorite Tracks : 25 In Jail, Pain Pain, Pour Whiskey On My Grave, Hot Mess,  Practice What I Preach, When I Get On A Roll

Jacob Bryant – Practice What I Preach

  1. More Than One Year
  2. 25 In Jail
  3. Best Part Of Me Is You
  4. Bring You Back
  5. Pain Pain
  6. Pour Whiskey On My Grave
  7. Sometimes I Pray
  8. Wrong Way Home
  9. Hot Mess
  10. Practice What I Preach
  11. When I Get On A Roll
  12. One More Night With You

Miss Ashley Monroe Debuts New Videos And New EP.

 News  Comments Off on Miss Ashley Monroe Debuts New Videos And New EP.
Feb 072019

It is a year for Miss Ashley Monroe and also for the Pistol Annies respectively, generating groundbreaking success for her music. On February 15th her EP of acoustic songs from her recently released album Sparrow will make their way into Spotify and other sources. It will be entitled Sparrow: acoustic sessions.


Ashley Monroe
Ashley Monroe - Hands on You Acoustic
Ashely released another song off of her upcoming Sparrow: Acoustic Sessions EP, out Feb. 15th. Take a listen to “Hands on You,” as well as the previously released “Wild Love” now!




This is exciting news for fans of here solo music, and I myself will be completely honest and up front in saying that I enjoyed her second album Like A Rose the best. But more and more bands are beginning to release acoustic albums shortly after the original album, to accompany it.

Blackberry Smoke did it last month  and a few more artists did respectively. I feel it give another presentation to the same song vocally, and can give another character to the same song from a listeners point of view.

Some songs speak to us differently when brought about from different avenues, if that makes any sense? Any fans will appreciate the different form of music and this approach may generate new fans of this particular artist.

Ashley Monroe
Ashley Monroe - Sparrow Acoustic Cover
sparrow acoustic sessions ep
available february 15th


I can tell you that Interstate Gospel brought forth a TON of critical acclaim especially from me and several other sources of media. I see a big tour ahead for them, with only one small problem…Hollar Annie’s pregnancy.

This issue has raised many a skeptic as to how extensive their tour will be able to be, before she needs rest. We shall have to see how things pan out for them on this situation.

Sparrow: Acoustic Sessions
I’m so excited to share a few songs from Sparrow in their most raw form. Before I wrote these songs, I went away for several days to dig up and dig thru old hurt. I acknowledge a lot of truths I never had, and I began healing…and not just the temporary kind. When I listen to these songs, I hear pain, forgiveness for myself and others, and finally, freedom…a freedom to move forward and grow. Thank you all for the love and support! Xo, Ashley.

The Read Southall Band Dropped A New Live Album.

 News  Comments Off on The Read Southall Band Dropped A New Live Album.
Feb 072019

Here lately I have been keeping an enduring eye on the Red Dirt community, all their wonderful festivals and happenings. There is indeed a plethora of bands to enjoy around Texas and Oklahoma respectively, both having their own unique identity. I enjoy studying the different styles of Country Music from different regions of America, and Red Dirt is one them that has so many derivative flavors.

Bearing all that in mind, I wanted to stop a moment and tell you about a new live album from the Read Southall Band from Oklahoma. This piece is from the Red 11 website:  Formed In Stillwater Oklahoma, The Read Southall Band is comprised of 4 native Oklahoman’s. Read Southall (lead vocals and rhythm guitar) Reid Barber (drums) Jeremee Knipp (Bass) JT Perry (Lead Guitar and harmonies). With all members having different influences in music, they have come together to create a unique red dirt/southern rock sound. With overdriven guitars and heavy drums the Read Southall Band aims to deliver a rock and roll experience at every show.

Not only does this live album span songs from their album “Six String Sorrow” it also includes songs from their 2017 album “Borrowed Time”. This album was recorded at the Tower Theater in Oklahoma City, and will have a few cover songs as well as originals.

Track Listing:

  1.  Wilder than the Rest
  2. Animals
  3. Serenade
  4. Clean Slate
  5. Don’t Tell Me
  6. Aero-plane
  7. Moon and Back
  8. Light on my Hand
  9. Why
  10. Empty Hole
  11. Keystone Clan
  12. Runnin’
  13. Beautiful Eyes
  14. Breakdown
  15. Gunshy
  16. Damn