Album Feature – Tre Burt – Caught It From The Rye

By Joshua Wallace

I first came across the music of Tre Burt when he was announced as the newest artist signed to John Prine’s Oh Boy! Records.  That will automatically put any artist on my radar as Oh Boy! Records is building a small but great roster of artists. Tre Burt’s sound is straight out of the 60’s folk scene.  There’s a bit of a raspy quality to his voice that makes him stand out. This album is pure folk music with guitar, harmonica and sparse use of drums, keyboards and bass. I dig this sound and it’s something I want to hear more of.

The album kicks off with “What Good” which is a number that could come straight from an early Dylan record.  It’s just Tre Burt and his guitar on a track that asks what good does the driving / flying / sailing do? I love the line “I’m but a passenger, I never said I understood”.  I think we’ve all been at that place at some point. Another standout track is “Real You”. This was one of the pre-release singles that pulled me into the rest of the album.  It’s one of the more upbeat tracks and one of the tracks to feature drums. It’s about searching for love and a real connection but maybe the other person isn’t feeling it. Finally, the “Last Hurrah” keeps the theme of relationships and looks at the end of one.  It’s a bittersweet song looking back at what is lost while looking forward to what is to come. I really dig the harmonica work on this one as it’s some of the best on the record.

I love that Tre Burt’s sound is something you don’t hear much of anymore.  It’s like a blast from the past and takes you right into a 60’s folk mindset while still being current.  The raspy quality of his voice is great for this style of music as well. He’s one of few artists signed to John Prine’s Oh Boy! Records and I feel like he’s a good fit that helps diversify their small roster.  Tre Burt is touring on a smaller scale right now and you can find out where he will be at his website. Caught It From The Rye is available everywhere as of Friday, January 31st, 2020.        

Favorite Tracks : What Good, Undead God Of War, Only Sorrow Remains, Real You, Last Hurrah 

Tre Burt – Caught It From The Rye (2020)

  1. What Good
  2. Caught It From The Rye
  3. Undead God Of War
  4. Franklin’s Tunnel (Feat. Sea Of Bees)
  5. Only Sorrow Remains
  6. Real You
  7. Moth’s Crossing
  8. Get It By Now Blues
  9. Last Hurrah