Album Feature – Ottoman Turks – Ottoman Turks II

 News  Comments Off on Album Feature – Ottoman Turks – Ottoman Turks II
Apr 132021

By Joshua Wallace

The Ottoman Turks are back with the follow up to their 2019 self titled debut called Ottoman Turks II.  This record leans more into the heavy rock aspects of their sound and gives us glimpses of country and rockabilly mixed in.  If you miss the days when Hank 3 would do shows that would include both country and rock/metal in the same night, this is definitely a band to check out.

The album kicks off with “Wound Up”, which is a fun rocker with an infectious gang vocal chorus.  It’s a fun way to start the record and this is a good one to get the blood pumping.  Another favorite is “Vaquero” and this is another banger of a rock song.  Clocking in at under 3 minutes, this song reminds me a lot of R.E.M.’s “It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)” but heavier.  Joshua Ray Walker is on fire with the solo on this track and it’s a real jam from start to finish.

“Travelin’ Blues” is one of the more country songs on the record.  It’s still a rocker at heart, but it has a bit of a shuffle to it and some extra twang thrown in.  “35 To Life” switches things up a bit and goes into metal territory with a bit of a sludge inspired blues rock sound.  I dig the vocals on this one and it just creates a different vibe at the middle point of the album.  Finally, another highlight on this record is “Zootstack Lightning”.  This is another killer guitar track with some crazy riffage from Joshua Ray Walker.  It’s also a track that has Nathan Wells, Joshua Ray Walker and Billy Law taking verses.  It’s tracks like this that show the range the band employs in their sound.

If you’re a fan of bands that can stretch their legs and hit multiple genres in one record, I highly recommend this one.  The Ottoman Turks go from punk rock to rockabilly to country to sludge metal and heavy blues all in the span of 34 minutes.  I have only touched on some of the tracks here, but if any of this intrigues you, give Ottoman Turks II a listen.  You won’t be disappointed.  This album is out everywhere as of April 2nd, 2021.

Favorite Tracks : Wound Up, Vaquero, Travelin’ Blues, 35 To Life, Zootstack Lightning, American Male

Check out the band’s Bandcamp page

Ottoman Turks – Ottoman Turks II (2021)

  1. Wound Up
  2. Vaquero
  3. Travelin’ Blues
  4. Conspiracy Freak
  5. 35 To Life
  6. Cigarettes & Alcohol
  7. Low Down Blue Dog Whine
  8. Zootstack Lightning
  9. American Male
  10. Militant Preacher
  11. Rootless Tree

Album Feature – Ottoman Turks – Ottoman Turks

 News  Comments Off on Album Feature – Ottoman Turks – Ottoman Turks
Sep 132019

By Joshua Wallace

I first heard about this band through Joshua Ray Walker whose Wish You Were Here record is still in my heavy rotation after reviewing it back in January.  He is actually the lead guitarist of this country and rock n roll outfit called Ottoman Turks. The rest of this Dallas, TX band is rounded out by Nathan Wells on rhythm guitar and vocals, Paul Hinojo on drums and Billy Law on bass and vocals.  This is one record you’re going to want to go out of your way to check out, here is why.

The album kicks off with a mid tempo number called “Apathy”.  It features Joshua Ray Walker’s slide guitar through the track and it’s a funky mid tempo that is a mix of the fuzzy rock and country music you can expect from the rest of the album.  The next two tracks dig into the yin and yang of this album. “Snake Song” is a fuzzy punk influenced rocker. I really dig Joshua Ray Walker’s solo work on this one and the smooth bass groove that the track strips down to for the last verse.  On the other hand, “Glass Bottles” is a classic country drinking anthem. From it’s sing-along chorus to the twangy guitar work on this track. I dig it.

The track “Red” is a slow almost heavy blues number with growly vocals from Nathan Wells.  As the track kicks into full gear, it morphs into a stoner rock sound that just gets faster and heavier as it goes.  This is one of the heavier tracks on the album. “Beer & Women” brings back some country vibes to the proceedings while still keeping the twangy guitars distorted.  It mixes the two sides of this band quite well in a track that maybe somewhat still leans to country.

This band does a great job of blending their heavy rock influences and their country influences into one cohesive sound.  I can only imagine how crazy the energy at a live show gets and hope to see them live at some point in the future. If you want to check this album out, it is available everywhere you can stream music as of August 23rd, 2019 and I’m sure the band still has some physical copies at live shows.

Favorite Tracks : Apathy, Snake Song, Glass Bottles, Red, Beer & Women, Hands Tied, Mas Amigos

Ottoman Turks – Ottoman Turks (2019)

  1. Apathy
  2. Snake Song
  3. Glass Bottles
  4. My Dog
  5. Red
  6. I Find Myself More Lonesome Every Day
  7. O C P
  8. Can’t Promise Nothin’
  9. Beer & Women
  10. Hands Tied
  11. You’re Only Pretty When You’re Sad
  12. Mas Amigos