Tag Archives: Sadler Vaden

Album Feature – Morgan Wade – Reckless

By Joshua Wallace

It feels like I’ve been hearing about the name Morgan Wade for a couple of years now.  Whether she was opening for someone or had a buzzworthy YouTube video or a couple of singles on Spotify, Morgan Wade was always someone who was part of the conversation as an upcoming country artist to watch out for.  Well, that time is now.  She is about to release her debut album Reckless and I’m here to tell you, this is a good one.  This record is produced by Sadler Vaden and if you don’t know him, he’s the guitar player for Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit and a critically acclaimed solo artist in his own right.  That being said, this is a great guitar record.  You can’t always say that for a country album, but this one is.  Morgan Wade has a voice that would fit in with alt country or alt rock.  Her voice goes from smooth to a raspy growl that works well on a guitar record such as this.

The album kicks off with “Wilder Days” which is a fun song about wishing you had known a lover back when they were wilder.  It’s a good track to kick off the album as it straddles the line between country and rock like a lot of the record does. “Other Side” is another great track that reminds me of a mellow 90’s alt rock song like something Matchbox 20 would release.  It’s a song about seeing a relationship through the good and bad and coming out on the other side. I dig this vibe and it’s nice to hear songs like this on a good country record.  Another favorite is “Last Cigarette” which to my ears is a song that could play on mainstream radio as a crossover hit.  It’s a strong track both lyrically and the catchy instrumental takes it to another level.  It’s a track that compares the high of having a last night with a soon to be ex lover with the high of a smoker’s last cigarette before they quit.  The track “Met You” is a strong country ballad that acts as the album’s finale.  It’s about finding someone special at a low point in your life and I feel like it’s one of the best vocal performances in the album.

If you’re like me and have been hearing the name Morgan Wade over the past few years and have been hoping for a full album, this debut doesn’t disappoint.  It’s a country record that brings a strong rock vibe across it’s ten tracks.  Producer Sadler Vaden had done an amazing job capturing how Morgan Wade is a singer who can meet the tender moments of country music, but still rise to the occasion with some souring alt rock vocals. There isn’t a bad song on this record and I highly recommend giving it a listen.  Reckless is out everywhere as of March 19th, 2021 and I can’t wait for everyone to hear this one.     

Favorite Tracks : Wilder Days, Other Side, Don’t Cry, Mend, Last Cigarette, Northern Air

Buy the Album and Merchhttps://morganwade.presspressmerch.com/

Morgan Wade – Reckless (2021)

  1. Wilder Days
  2. Matches and Metaphors
  3. Other Side
  4. Don’t Cry
  5. Mend
  6. Last Cigarette
  7. Take Me Away
  8. Reckless
  9. Northern Air
  10. Met You

Album Feature – Sadler Vaden – Anybody Out There?

By Joshua Wallace

You might know Sadler Vaden as the guitar player for Jason Isbell’s band The 400 Unit.  You might even know him as a former member of Drivin’ N Cryin’. However you know his music, you should check out his solo work.  His latest album is titled Anybody Out There? and it’s a follow up to his self titled 2016 debut. This record is actually my first exposure to his music as a solo artist and I’m digging it.  He reminds me a lot of Tom Petty and the country leaning rock sound that he often brought. He also brings the same thought provoking lyrics that Petty often brought to the table. However you are familiar with Sadler Vaden, this is one record you should check out.

The opening riff to “Next To You” kicks off like a long lost Tom Petty B-side.  It’s a fun classic American rock song that gets you pumped for the rest of the album.  The second track “Don’t Worry” slows things down a bit. I love the smooth guitar work that is a direct contrast to the opener.  I love the line “Honey, wake up and see the dawn / ‘Cause that amber sky, it don’t last long”. It’s a song about taking time to appreciate the small things and not letting stuff bog you down.  It’s a great track that is an example of simple songwriting you don’t see much these days.  

The title track “Anybody Out There” has a bit of a trippy vibe to it.  The song starts off with some drums that have some spacey effects to them before settling into a great rock rift.  The track “Peace + Harmony” opens with more great riff work and it settles into a groove that is smooth and rocking at the same time.  “Be Here, Right Now” is a smooth slow track with some nice slide guitar throughout. This one adds to the country/folk vibe on the album and it’s about getting away and being here, right now.  The solo reminds me of something out of Tom Petty’s playbook.

This whole record has cool vibes all over it.  If you’re missing the brand of country-ish and southern fried rock n roll that Tom Petty used to bring to the table, this album from Sadler Vaden hits the spot.  This is where I would normally tell you how to find tour dates, but with everything up in the air on that front, I will direct you to Sadler Vaden’s merch store where you can buy this record and other items.  Anybody Out There? is available everywhere as of March 06th, 2020.

Favorite Tracks : Next To You, Don’t Worry, Golden Child, Modern Times, Peace + Harmony, Be Here, Right Now

Sadler Vaden – Anybody Out There? (2020)

  1. Next To You
  2. Don’t Worry
  3. Golden Child
  4. Anybody Out There?
  5. Curtain Call
  6. Modern Times
  7. Peace + Harmony
  8. Good Man
  9. Be Here, Right Now
  10. Tried And True