By Joshua Wallace

It feels like I’ve been hearing about the name Morgan Wade for a couple of years now.  Whether she was opening for someone or had a buzzworthy YouTube video or a couple of singles on Spotify, Morgan Wade was always someone who was part of the conversation as an upcoming country artist to watch out for.  Well, that time is now.  She is about to release her debut album Reckless and I’m here to tell you, this is a good one.  This record is produced by Sadler Vaden and if you don’t know him, he’s the guitar player for Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit and a critically acclaimed solo artist in his own right.  That being said, this is a great guitar record.  You can’t always say that for a country album, but this one is.  Morgan Wade has a voice that would fit in with alt country or alt rock.  Her voice goes from smooth to a raspy growl that works well on a guitar record such as this.

The album kicks off with “Wilder Days” which is a fun song about wishing you had known a lover back when they were wilder.  It’s a good track to kick off the album as it straddles the line between country and rock like a lot of the record does. “Other Side” is another great track that reminds me of a mellow 90’s alt rock song like something Matchbox 20 would release.  It’s a song about seeing a relationship through the good and bad and coming out on the other side. I dig this vibe and it’s nice to hear songs like this on a good country record.  Another favorite is “Last Cigarette” which to my ears is a song that could play on mainstream radio as a crossover hit.  It’s a strong track both lyrically and the catchy instrumental takes it to another level.  It’s a track that compares the high of having a last night with a soon to be ex lover with the high of a smoker’s last cigarette before they quit.  The track “Met You” is a strong country ballad that acts as the album’s finale.  It’s about finding someone special at a low point in your life and I feel like it’s one of the best vocal performances in the album.

If you’re like me and have been hearing the name Morgan Wade over the past few years and have been hoping for a full album, this debut doesn’t disappoint.  It’s a country record that brings a strong rock vibe across it’s ten tracks.  Producer Sadler Vaden had done an amazing job capturing how Morgan Wade is a singer who can meet the tender moments of country music, but still rise to the occasion with some souring alt rock vocals. There isn’t a bad song on this record and I highly recommend giving it a listen.  Reckless is out everywhere as of March 19th, 2021 and I can’t wait for everyone to hear this one.     

Favorite Tracks : Wilder Days, Other Side, Don’t Cry, Mend, Last Cigarette, Northern Air

Buy the Album and Merch

Morgan Wade – Reckless (2021)

  1. Wilder Days
  2. Matches and Metaphors
  3. Other Side
  4. Don’t Cry
  5. Mend
  6. Last Cigarette
  7. Take Me Away
  8. Reckless
  9. Northern Air
  10. Met You
Follow by Email