By Joshua Wallace

I’ll be honest, I didn’t know much of James Scott Bullard before Gary premiered his single “Jesus, Jail Or Texas” right here on the website.  That one song was good enough for me and I knew I wanted to review the album when it was released. Before I got the CD, I went to Spotify to hear what I could from James Scott Bullard.  The only thing there was a previous single called “Wicked Ways” and a compilation album called The Rise and Fall Of… which compiles tracks from his previous releases. From what I can gather, Full Tilt Boogie marks his 9th release overall and 6th full length.  This feels like a good jumping on point for new fans of James Scott Bullard as it is his best sounding material that I could find and it marks a sonic shift to a more southern rock leaning sound.

This album starts off on a slower note with the opening track “Lord, Have Mercy”.  It’s a great way to kick off the proceedings before James Scott Bullard kicks things into high gear.  “Wicked Ways” was the first single from the album and sets things off with a killer southern rock country tune that recalls the early days of Skynyrd with ease.  Another early track was “Jesus, Jail or Texas” which was premiered right here on Gary Hayes Country. This goes more into the country side of Bullard’s sound and it’s a very catchy tune.  This is one of my favorites on the album.

Another favorite has another killer opening riff on the track with “Leavin’ On My Mind”.  It’s a great drifting song if you like songs like Willie’s “On The Road Again” or Cash’s “I’ve Been Everywhere”.  The album closes out with “Back To You” which is more of a southern rock ballad. In true southern rock ballad fashion, this track closes the album out with some great solo work.

Full Tilt Boogie is an appropriate name for this album.  The boogie is certainly turned to full tilt throughout this record and James Scott Bullard has the Waylon meets Skynyrd southern rock influenced country sound down to a science.  I look forward to being able to see him live with a full band sometime in the future. Full Tilt Boogie is available everywhere on April 27th and signed copies are available at James Scott Bullard’s store.

Favorite Tracks : Lord, Have Mercy, Wicked Ways, Jesus, Jail Or Texas, Leavin’ On My Mind, Back To You


James Scott Bullard – Full Tilt Boogie (2018)


  1. Lord, Have Mercy
  2. Wicked Ways
  3. All To Pieces
  4. Hey, Hey Mama
  5. Warpath
  6. Jesus, Jail Or Texas
  7. Evil Lovin’
  8. Leavin’ On My Mind
  9. The Next Tear
  10. Back To You
Follow by Email