By Joshua Wallace

Shooter Jennings is back with his first album since 2016’s experimental LP Countach (For Giorgio).  His new record Shooter takes him back to his country roots and might be the most country album he has put out yet. There is clearly some throwback influence on this LP which reunites him with long time producer Dave Cobb.  This 9 track album is all killer and no filler so let’s take a deeper dive into some of these tracks.

The album starts out with the rocking number “Bound Ta Git Down” and sets the album off right.  I dig the horns in this track and it’s a great boogie to start the record with. My favorite pre-release track on the album is the track “D.R.U.N.K.”.  This should by all means be a radio hit, at least on Sirius XM. It’s a catchy tune with an infectious chorus that I feel like will be a favorite with live crowds for years to come.

Another great track is one of the slower numbers on the album called “Shades & Hues”.  It’s a country blues track that I could hear Hank Jr. cutting on any of his best records.  The album picks the pace back up with “I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy”.  The horn section from “Bound Ta Git Down” makes another appearance here.  I love how this record is packed with highs and lows and it paces itself very well.  “I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy” features a killer main riff that takes me back to some old school rock n roll with some country boogie.  Finally, the album rounds out with the awesome track “Denim & Diamonds” which takes me back to the smooth rock ballads of the 70’s with a funky bass line and guitar work that could come straight out of a Fleetwood Mac track.  It’s a great way to close out an amazing throwback record.

The new album from Shooter Jennings titled Shooter is clearly rooted and inspired by sounds of the past.  There is so much country boogie and rock n roll on this record you would think Bocephus himself had a hand in it.  It takes Shooter’s sound back to the jukeboxes sitting in the corner of your local hole in the wall honky tonk where it belongs.  This is quite possibly the best Shooter Jennings album yet even tops his 2013 masterpiece The Other Life. This record is available everywhere you find good music on Friday August 10th.

Favorite Tracks : Bound Ta Git Down, D.R.U.N.K., Shades & Hues, I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy, Denim & Diamonds

Shooter Jennings – Shooter (2018)

  1. Bound Ta Git Down
  2. Do You Love Texas?
  3. Living In A Minor Key
  4. D.R.U.N.K.
  5. Shades & Hues
  6. I’m Wild & My Woman Is Crazy
  7. Fast Horses & Good Hideouts
  8. Rhinestone Eyes
  9. Denim & Diamonds
Follow by Email