By Joshua Wallace

Colter Wall has announced the follow up to his 2018 release Songs Of The Plains.  This album picks up where that one left off and is titled Western Swing & Waltzes And Other Punchy Songs.  The title track has been released alongside the announcement and you can stream that below.  I heard a lot of these songs live when I saw Colter Wall live with his band The Scary Prairie Boys back in December, 2019.  You can read that review here.  He recorded this record with that same group and if the title track is any indication, there will be lots of western swing influence throughout this album.  I loved his version of Marty Robbins hit “Big Iron” live and I’m glad to see it here.  The record features a mix of original songs and covers including a few western traditional songs.  This album was self produced and recorded by Adam Odor at Yellow Dog Studios in Wimberly, TX.  You might be familiar with Adam Odor’s work as he produces records for Mike and The Moonpies.  This record has quickly become one of my most anticipated releases of 2020 and you will be able to hear it on August 28th, 2020 via La Honda Records/Thirty Tigers.  You can pre-order a copy here.  That deluxe vinyl looks good.

Colter Wall – Western Swing & Waltzes And Other Punchy Songs (2020)

  1. Western Swing & Waltzes (Colter Wall)
  2. I Ride An Old Paint / Leavin’ Cheyenne (Traditional)
  3. Big Iron (Marty Robins)
  4. Henry and Sam (Colter Wall)
  5. Diamond Joe (Traditional)
  6. High and Mighty (Lewis Martin Pederson III)
  7. Talkin’ Prairie Boy (Colter Wall)
  8. Cowpoke (Stan Jones)
  9. Rocky Mountain Rangers (Colter Wall)
  10. Houlihans at the Holiday Inn (Colter Wall)
Follow by Email