September 28, 2017 Will Go Down In Texas Country Music History. Here lately I have been attempting to strengthen my ties to Texas and the music scene out there as well. I recently supported Heart Of Texas Records and as I type this my crew is on the way to a Red Dirt festival. The Texas Country music scene is a thriving and different world of it’s own.
The Texas Country Music Association, Inc. announced the Top Finalists in each of the 21 categories for the 2017 Texas Country Music Awards. Nominations were made between May 1 and June 15, 2017. Voting began June 20 and will continue through July 31, 2017. I’m still studying all the artists and making my decisions.
The 2017 Texas Country Music Awards will take place on the evening of September 28, 2017 at the Carthage Civic Center, Carthage, TX, where the Awards will be presented. Produced by the Texas Country Music Association, Inc., the Awards show will be hosted by Carthage Native and Texas Country Artist, Brandon Rhyder, who will also perform at the event. Co-hosting the Awards is industry and media professional Jenn Ford. In addition, there will be live performances by TCMA Spokesperson Mark Chesnutt, along with Bri Bagwell ,Doug Supernaw and Christian Country Artist Del Way and others.
Doors at the venue open to the public at 5:30pm and a Pre-Show will be performed by the popular Steve Mays And The Three Of A Kind Band , comprised of Steve Mays, Richard Wilson, Cody Wood, Vicky Moye and Marty Erwin, along with special guest fiddler David Varnado.
There will be 22 Awards presented at the 2017 Texas Country Music Awards, including the prestigious “Trailblazer Award” which will be presented to Mark Chesnutt for his long-standing career and the unprecedented success he’s obtained. “TCMA is very excited and pleased to be presenting Mark the 2017 Trailblazer Award as a part of the Awards Ceremony,” says Linda Wilson, President and Founder of the Texas Country Music Association, Inc. “He’s certainly ‘blazed the trail’ for so many artists, and he deserves the honor and recognition.”
She continues, “Texas is so blessed to have such spectacular talent. There were literally thousands of nominees – each one gifted and unique — and we are very honored to be able to work on ALL their behalf on an ongoing basis. The Texas Country Music Awards is the only fan-based Country Music Awards in Texas and certainly the State’s largest. You won’t want to miss it!” The 2017 Texas Country Music Awards will be covered by media from all over Texas, and filmed for television to air at a later date.
The finalists and their award categories are: Entertainer Of The Year: Brady Honeycutt Band, Cody Wayne Band, Darrin Morris Band, Mike Donnell Band, Todd Freeman & Bullet Proof.

Male Vocalist of the Year: Brady Honeycutt,Darrin Morris Band,Cody Wayne,Justin Todd Herod, Gary Jones Jr.

Vocal Group or Duo: Bill Bear & the Red Brick Troubadours, Darrell Goldman Band, Darrin Morris Band, Cody Wayne Band, Texas Crossing.
Young Artist (16 & Under): Frankie Lee, Kadie Lynn Roberson, Jack Barksdale, Macy Dot Neal, Colt Varnado Country.
Album Of The Year: Country To The Bone (Darrin Morris), Marcus Lindsey (Marcus Lindsey), The Bed I’ve Made (Darrell Goldman), True North (Justin Todd Herod), Steel (Holly Tucker).
Country Single of the Year: Where Will I Be (Performed by Darrin Morris, Written by Susan Giacona) Paradise On The Line, All Around Country Girl, Dance With Me Tonight, Fly High.
Radio Station of the Year: 100.5 KSCK Sterling City, 95.9 KFWR Fort Worth, 103.9 KEBY Marble Falls, 99.3 KOKE Austin, 105.7 KYKX Tyler/Longview Radio DJ Of The Year: Cowboy Dave Bayless 100.3 The Bull Houston, Eric Raines 99.3 KOKE Austin, Justin Frazell 95.9 KFWR Ft. Worth, Rickey Green 100.5 KSCK Sterling City, Damon Beirele 103.9 KEBY Marble Falls.
Internet Radio Station of the Year:,,,,
Live Music Venue of the Year: Dosey Doe The Woodlands, The Back Porch Kilgore, Love and War In Texas Lindale, Polecats Seguin, Melody Ranch Waco
Christian Country Artist of the Year: Julie Reese, Justin Todd Herod, Michael Knight, Darrell Goldman, Clifton Jansky
Christian Country Single Of The Year: Don’t Hate The Sinner-Julie Reese, End Of The Pew-Bill Bear, That’s What Jesus Would Do-Justin Todd Herod, What A Wonderful World-Michael Knight, Ten Miles Away-Darrell Goldman
Bassist of the Year: Bubba Moore, Cody Wood, Stormy Cooper, George Schinler, Jonathan Wren Fiddler of the Year: Choya Crenshaw, David Varnado, Mark Kalson, Heather Stalling, Mike Calley
Guitarist of the Year: Freddie Pate, Will Wails, Tommy Thomas, John Matlock, Michael Boatman Keyboard/Pianist of the Year: Allen Huff, Dizzy Dave Dalton, Floyd Domino, David Young, Chris Bergeron
Steel Guitarist of the Year: Tommy Detamore, Lane Thibodeaux, Bobby Gardner, Kenny Grohman, Ben White
Drummer of the Year: Eddie (Danger) Barmot, Jeremy Moore, Matt Vantiel, Billy Rasnake, Roy Lancaster Country
Songwriter of the Year Finalists: Adam Gorman, Brad Bowman, Brent Giddens, Bill Bear/Robert Campbell, Jake Pyeatt, Jeremy Studdard/Jamie Chandler/Roger Springer, Josh Vincent, Justin Todd Herod Christian Country
Songwriter of the Year Finalists: Alex Coba, Bart Woytek, Brent Giddens, Darrell Goldman, Julie Reese, Justin Todd Herod, Kelly Kenning
To place your Votes for the 2017 Texas Country Music Awards, go to Voters do not need to be a member of the Texas Country Music Association; however TCMA Members’ votes are doubled.
The Texas Country Music Association, Inc. is a 501c3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote and enhance the Texas Country Music industry, its artists, musicians, businesses and those behind the scenes to make it all happen. “We have big plans for the future that will certainly help the Texas Country Music industry and all involved in it,” says Wilson. More information about the TCMA, its purpose, plans, membership and goals are available on
Tickets to the Awards show are available now @… or through the link on the TCMA website.
Underwriting Sponsorships and Souvenir Program Advertising is available for the 2017 Texas Country Music Awards. More information can be downloaded at or by emailing or
Follow by Email