By Joshua Wallace

Sam Morrow’s third album Concrete & Mud is an album full of foot stompers and funky honky tonk.  This is evident in any of the album’s preview tracks from “Heartbreak Man” to “Quick Fix” or even “Skinny Elvis”.  This album is highly recommended if you like your country fast and loud. Let’s take a closer look at some of these tracks.

The album opens up with “Heartbreak Man” which is a country rock tune complete with an awesome riff and some great funky organ playing.  Another favorite is “Paid By The Mile” which takes you back to the days of 70’s southern rock with a tune about being on the road and wishing you got paid by the mile.  “Skinny Elvis” features the vocal talents of Jamie Wyatt on a killer foot stomping duet.

“Coming Home” is a nice ballad which offers a change of pace.  In this track Sam Morrow recounts his time on the road while at the same time wanting to be home.  Another good storytelling ballad is “San Fernando Sunshine”. This track reinforces the west coast feel that runs through the album.  The album closer is “Mississippi River” which features a more toned down rootsy sound similar to Morrow’s previous albums.

Concrete & Mud finds Sam Morrow stretching out his sound and getting into more of a funky and country rock groove.  It echos back to the days of southern rock dominance while keeping its roots in a Texas honky tonk. This album is highly recommended if you like your country fast and heavy.  Concrete & Mud is out everywhere on March 30th, 2018.

Favorite Tracks : Paid By The Mile, Good Ole Days, Skinny Elvis, Heartbreak Man, San Fernando Sunshine

Sam Morrow – Concrete & Mud (2018)


  1. Heartbreak Man

  2. Paid By The Mile

  3. San Fernando Sunshine

  4. Quick Fix

  5. Good Ole Days

  6. The Weight Of A Stone

  7. Skinny Elvis (Feat. Jamie Wyatt)

  8. Coming Home

  9. Cigarettes

  10. Mississippi River


Follow by Email