Jamestown Revival’s Fireside With Louis L’Amour EP Out Now
Six tracks directly inspired by Louis L’Amour short stories
Nashville, TN – May 28, 2021 – When the recording process of their new EP, Fireside With Louis L’Amour, was all said and done, Jonathan Clay and Zach Chance of Jamestown Revival took on the challenge of distilling a half-dozen tales from The Collected Short Stories of Louis L’Amour, Volume 1: Frontier Stories from 30-page adventures down to three and a half minute songs. Their tune “Bound for El Paso” comes from L’Amour’s “The Gift of Cochise,” “Fool Me Once” was inspired by “The Man from Bitter Sands,” and so on. Longtime fans of Jamestown Revival haven’t had to listen very hard to hear L’Amour’s influence on Clay and Chance, but this is the first time they have tipped their hats directly to America’s beloved frontier storyteller. The whole of Fireside With Louis L’Amour—six songs in total—was directly inspired by individual stories from L’Amour’s Volume 1 collection, allowing listeners to trace the precise roots of Jamestown Revival’s newest release. Available now, fans can purchase or stream Fireside With Louis L’Amour with this link.
Jamestown Revival - Bound for El Paso (Official Video - Inspired By The Works of Louis L'Amour)
“They say that L’Amour was the master of the short story and we would humbly agree. In 30 pages he manages to draw you in, make you invest in the characters, and oftentimes hit you with a twist that you truly didn’t expect,” say Clay and Chance. “The songs on Fireside With Louis L’Amour are our attempt to put a musical spin on some of Louis’ short stories found on The Collected Short Stories of Louis L’Amour, Volume 1: Frontier Stories. It’s been challenging and incredibly rewarding.” To have the family of L’Amour on board was just icing on the cake for Jamestown Revival. “On top of that, it’s been an absolute honor to have the blessing of Louis’ son, Beau, and the L’Amour estate. We hope these songs inspire you to pick up The Collected Short Stories of Louis L’Amour and read the true inspiration behind the music,” they say, before adding, “We also feel it’s worthwhile to mention these songs should be best enjoyed sitting next to a fire with a nip of whiskey in the glass.”
Fireside With Louis L’Amour In The Press:
Garden & Gun premiered the live performance video of album-opener, “Bound for El Paso.”
“If you’re a L’Amour fan, you’ll no doubt recognize what’s been distilled from story to song,” said Cowboys & Indians Magazine. “And you’ll love what happens when two Texans get a hold of America’s storyteller and let their imaginations and harmonies run.”
Fireside With Louis L’Amour Track Listing:
1. Bound for El Paso
2. Fool Me Once
3. The Ballad of Four Prisoners
4. The Killing Type
5. Beyond the Ridge
6. Prospector’s Blues
More About Jamestown Revival: In 2020, Jamestown Revival released A Field Guide To Loneliness, an intimate collection of songs that finds Clay and Chance reflecting on recent times whereby human contact was limited more than ever. A Field Guide To Loneliness follows Jamestown Revival’s 2019 critically acclaimed release, San Isabel. Recorded in a remote cabin in the majestic and calming landscape of central Colorado, the band embraced a minimalist approach in the recording of San Isabel. Finding inspiration in ‘60s and early 70’s folk and pop, the original songs on San Isabel show reverence for early John Denver and Bob Dylan, as well as Simon & Garfunkel and Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.
About San Isabel, Rolling Stone praised, “…bright harmonies and loping guitar patterns..splits the difference between modern-day Americana and old-school folk.” And Paste Magazine complimented, “The record is abundant with imagery – one minute they’re evoking the expansive west on ‘Round Prairie Road’ and ‘Mountain Preamble’ and the next they’re crooning a thoughtful ballad on ‘This Too Shall Pass.’”
Follow by Email