By Joshua Wallace

The modern kings of southern rock are back with a new record called Find A Light. This album is another great addition to what is turning into an amazing record catalog for Blackberry Smoke.  It has everything you have come to expect from a Blackberry Smoke record including some great guest artists like Robert Randolph, Amanda Shires and The Wood Brothers.  Let’s take a deeper look at some of the tracks featured on this album.

One of my favorite album tracks features Robert Randolph of Robert Randolph & The Family Band.  “I’ll Keep Ramblin” is a true rocker that opens with a riff that will grab you and take you on through the entire track nodding your head and tapping your feet.  To change the pace a bit, “Medicate My Mind” is a slower acoustic track about the need to just slow down the world and medicate your mind, however you choose to do so.

“The Crooked Kind” is a straight rock track with some of the killer riffs good southern rock is known for.  “Nobody Gives a Damn” goes more into alt country territory on a track that is about those folks who let little accomplishments go to their head too much.  The album closes with a rootsy acoustic track featuring The Wood Brothers called “Mother Mountain” about redemption always being close at hand. It closes the album out on a smoother more rootsy note with help from The Wood Brothers on vocals.

This album is another high point in the career of Blackberry Smoke.  For many fans this has the potential to be a favorite album. While I like to hit the high points, there just isn’t a bad song on the album. It’s just that good.  Blackberry Smoke continue to stay well within the realm of southern rock proving themselves to be gods of the riff while at the same time stretching out their soundscape and exploring more acoustic and alt country sounds.  Find A Light is available everywhere music is sold on April 6th, 2018.

Favorite Tracks : The Crooked Kind, Medicate My Mind, Nobody Gives A Damn, I’ll Keep Ramblin’, Lord Strike Me Dead, Mother Mountain

Blackberry Smoke – Find A Light (2018)

  1. Flesh And Bone

  2. Run Away From It All

  3. The Crooked Kind

  4. Medicate My Mind

  5. I’ve Got This Song

  6. Best Seat In The House

  7. I’ll Keep Ramblin’ (feat. Robert Randolph)

  8. Seems So Far

  9. Lord Strike Me Dead

  10. Let Me Down Easy (feat. Amanda Shires)

  11. Nobody Gives A Damn

  12. Till The Wheels Fall Off

  13. Mother Mountain (feat. The Wood Brothers)


Follow by Email